Back to Basics: Returning to Film Photography

Digital photography has made the lives of photographers so much easier. Instead of spending so much time in the darkroom to make sure our prints come out right, we can now do it in front of the computer. In the past decade, photography has become a convenient and accessible art form. No wonder lots of kids these days want to become photographers.

Image source: Photohdrblog.wordpress.com

What I kind of regret is that most digital photographers no longer experienced “dark times” for print processing. Though I kind of detested staying in the dark room for long hours during my younger years, now I appreciate the discipline it instilled in me. I think it made me more thoughtful and inventive with each shot because film is expensive. It taught me about light exposure and sharpness even before Photoshop and Instagram came along. Ah, just the thought of the stop bath makes my nose itch. For the uninitiated, a stop bath is a chemical bath commonly used for black and white prints. Yes, during our heyday we didn’t have Inkwell and Gotham.

These days I’m glad that younger photographers are taking the time to learn about “classic” photography. Even if it means starting out with an instant camera, it’s important that they’re learning the real value of anticipating that one big moment. As for me, it’s fun to check if my old skills are still intact. I’m a bit rusty but maybe I really need the time off from my DSLR to develop my patience again.

Image source: Widewalls.ch

Hi there! The name’s Judd Bergman. I’m a retired photographer and a New York Yankees fan. I live for capturing life’s most interesting moments. Follow this blog for more of my adventures. See ya.

Leave a Reply

